file Question Y Axis fun and games

More
20 Nov 2018 02:48 #55172 by pev
Y Axis fun and games was created by pev
Hi all,

Im new to CNC but familiar with the concepts. I picked up a second hand SC600/2 (I believe!) which Ive been attempting to get going using UCCNC via an UC100. While familiarising, it seems that the Y axis gets half way along with a velocity 3000 and then makes a loud "wheeeee" noise with motion stalling but UCCNC still thinking position is changing. Dropping the velocity to about 1500 seems to solve this. However as Im wanting to machine acrylic, i really want to go around 2,500, not to mention the fact that it seems well below spec which I want to investigate.

Doing some reading and digging around the forums I found the excellent video from Stoney CNC about tuning the Y axis. So, I spent a few hours following the process and now seem to have improved things a bit. I then repeated the process (understanding it a bit better the second time!) but still not *that* much better, and having seen in the video the presenters success at 5000 - 6000 it makes me fairly sure something more significant is up.

Anyway, after looking at everything I could think of I cynically checked the Y stepper motor and lo and behold it seems that the previous owner has swapped the Y axis stepper for an "RB Step Motor 17HDC4023-24B" - when I understand this should be a Nanotec unit. Now google doesn't bring up any specs but it seems they're prevalent on Alibaba and previous experience tells me that things from Alibaba tend to use specs as a guideline as opposed to, well, a specification!

So, to my questions :
1) Am i likely right in my hypothesis that this stepper is likely to blame?
2) Should I just replace with direct replacement from Stepcraft or is there a marginally more powerful replacement I should use?