file Question Experimentation with pcb engraving.

• peterg1000
  • peterg1000's Avatar Topic Author
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
More
18 Jan 2019 13:11 #55748 by peterg1000
Experimentation with pcb engraving. was created by peterg1000
I've been using my 420/2 for pcb engraving for three years now, so I figured it was time to check backlash settings. Pleasantly surprised to see that measured X axis had not changed and Y axis had increased by 0.002" (50 microns). Y axis was corrected in an updated profile.

I recently saw advertised some (Chinese?) carbide engraving bits specified to have a 0.1mm cutting tip and a 10deg angle, so I decided to try these for engraving boards for surface mount components. Initially I used the same pcb-gcade feed and spindle settings settings as for 30 degree 0,2mm tools I normally use (1000mm/min and 18,000rpm) - these resulted in the rapid demise of the tool after only a few seconds!!

Next trial used a much lower feed rate of 300mm//min and upped the spindle to 24000rpm. the results look quite reasonable (see attached photo) after the engraved board was polished using 2000 grade wet and dry to clean the cut edges. Board layout parameters were set to 0.012" (0.3mm) track and 0.012" isolation using Eagle 9.2.2 to autoroute the traces. Engraving parameters in pcb-gcde were set to multiple pass and a step size of 0.075mm, feed was set to 300mm/min and tool diam to 0.1mm. Spindle speed was 23,000rpm and cutting depth 0.15mm.

Results look reasonable, although the slow feed and small step size resulted in a 25 minute marathon even on the small trial board.

Peter

SC 420/2, Industrial VFD spindle from StoneyCNC
UC100 + UCCNC
Cut2D, Autosketch10, Draftsight, Eagle 9.5.1

There is no problem, however simple, that cannot be made more complicated by thinking about it.

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• MagIO2
  • Forum Nutzer