file Question Scale Issue

• Remotruker
  • Remotruker's Avatar Topic Author
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
More
11 Nov 2015 03:32 - 11 Nov 2015 03:54 #26809 by Remotruker
Scale Issue was created by Remotruker
First post here, but have been reading on here for about 3 weeks.

Just got a 420 unit and am running VCarve and am having trouble with scale. The drawing I did is 6in x 6in, but during an aircut trail run, the machine moves maybe 1/2 an inch in any direction. The preview in UCCNC looks like the drawing, so i'm guessing a scale issue.

Toolpath was exported out of Vcarve with Mach2/3 Inch settings.

Stepcraft 2 420
500 Watt Spindle
3D Printing System
3d Probe
T-Slot Table

Tooling:
1/8" 60 Deg 4 Flute V Bit
1/8" 4-Flute Square Nose End Mill
1/8" 2 Flute Ball Nose End Mill
1/16" 2 Flute Ball Nose End Mill

UCCNC and VCarve Pro

Total Newbie!

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

This message has an attachment file.
Please log in or register to see it.

Last edit: 11 Nov 2015 03:54 by Remotruker.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Nov 2015 10:13 #26825 by peterg1000
Replied by peterg1000 on topic Scale Issue
Hi,

You've guessed correctly - it's an Imperial to metric issue!!

As far as I know UCCNC only "knows" about metric, so you will have to multiply eveything by 25.4!! All the parameters in the SC420 are metric (mm) too, so you have little choice anyway.

In VCarve, check the "mm" box and adjust all the sizes you have accordingly. Your .txt file says it all, the machine was moving 6mm rather than 6".

I find helps to remember that 1mm = 40 thou (very nearly) and 1 thou = 25 microns.

Peter

SC 420/2, Industrial VFD spindle from StoneyCNC
UC100 + UCCNC
Cut2D, Autosketch10, Draftsight, Eagle 9.5.1

There is no problem, however simple, that cannot be made more complicated by thinking about it.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Remotruker

More
11 Nov 2015 11:07 #26830 by Rory