file Question Problem with the Z-axis motor

• andrewvarano
  • andrewvarano's Avatar Topic Author
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
More
15 Aug 2015 13:03 #24319 by andrewvarano
Problem with the Z-axis motor was created by andrewvarano
Hi, just assembled my Stepcraft2 600 with only minor hiccups. I am now having a frustrating, and strange, problem to do with the z-axis motor and with LED2.I'm very new to electronics and all these sorts of things, so excuse me if I have weird ways of describing things or weird ways of having tested things out.

First strange thing is that when I switch on the stepcraft, LED 2 will only light if I have tipped the machine onto it's side, or if I'm touching the x-axis motor (don't know how I managed to figure this out). When I have done this the lights will stay on and I am able to manually jog the X and Y axis motors (with no problems) from Win PC-NC starter. As soon as I try to jog the Z axis, I get a 'machine not ready' error and the E-stop indicator on the program comes on (the e-stop on the machine is definitely not engaged) and LED2 will start blinking, 2 or 3 clicks a second, quite regularly. The Z Axis motor will also make a clicking sound as if it is jammed or something (see video link below).

When the LED2 light comes on using my strange method the Z-axis motor locks, giving all indication that it should work. When LED2 doesn't come on the red LED on the circuit board which indicates a Z motor problem, switches on.

I've double checked all the connections to the circuit board.