file Question Which Insertion tool to use?

• GeeDee
  • GeeDee's Avatar Topic Author
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
More
30 Dec 2015 10:13 - 30 Dec 2015 10:28 #28757 by GeeDee
Which Insertion tool to use? was created by GeeDee
Hi,

I'm completely new to CNC.

I want to design prototypes of airducts for racecars.
See below for an example what I want to make.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

I want to create it with an 840, but I'm confused which drill bit (insertion tools) I should use.

So, can any of you guys tell me which drill bit I should use to shape 18mm MDF.
I know I need one (6mm?) for the first pass and another (1mm?) for the second pass.
But I do not understand the difference between downcut and upcut, when to use single flute, when fish??

Is it correct to use this one for the first cut
www.stepcraft-systems.com/en/accessories/insertion-tools/2-flute-fish-upcut-d-6-mm

and this one (as 1mm) for the second cut?
www.stepcraft-systems.com/en/accessories/insertion-tools/end-mill-diamond

Thanks,
Gerry.
Last edit: 30 Dec 2015 10:28 by GeeDee.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• MagIO2
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Zu viele Ideen und zu wenig Zeit
More
30 Dec 2015 12:28 #28760 by MagIO2
Replied by MagIO2 on topic Which Insertion tool to use?
Diamond is used for materials that can't be cut very well (for example CFK or GFK). Diamond works like filing or rasping.
One fluted endmills are important for materials where chips tend to get stuck in the flute.
In general having more flutes is better for the cut itself, less stress for the cutting edges, less tendecies for vibrations, smaller chips but still higher feed rate.

Your choice for the first run is ok.

For the second run I'd choose a ball end endmill. If the picture shows the whole truth, no more sharper edges hidden in other parts, I'd also use a bigger endmill. The rule here: As big as possible, as small as needed.