file Frage S600 Build Experience

• woodendonkey
  • woodendonkeys Avatar Autor
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
Mehr
27 Dez 2014 13:52 #12593 von woodendonkey
S600 Build Experience wurde erstellt von woodendonkey
First of all, I must express my gratitude to Rory Stoney of StoneyCNC for his help and support in getting this build working. I have no experience of CNC machines, and Rory reassured me from before making the purchase "there are no stupid questions". I felt I asked a lot of them!

Some tips from my own build experience of Stepcraft S600 in December 2014, which I hope may be of use to others.

Before you start:
1. Make sure you have some way (small boxes, plastic bags, envelopes) of holding all the pieces separate. I did that that but omitted ...
2. When separating all the parts make sure you NUMBER the boxes/packets, or you will have to do all size checking twice.
3. Note, before starting to identify pieces, that the parts list is NOT TO SCALE ... but at the end of it there is a 1:1 scale section for screws/bolts and washers.
4. Tools and materials - I'd add sandpaper to the list, and possibly a 6mm thread set (and in my case a soldering iron - see later).

My kit was missing part 31 - 4 of M3 30mm lens head screw - I was able to source a suitable replacement from B&Q rather than wait for supply by post.

On to the build - I'll use the number system from the assembly instructions.

1. A general comment - this is probably the hardest bit of assembly with a huge number of parts, so don't get concerned about the time it takes! Some of the parts you are told to tighten have to be temporarily loosened again to get parts into place - don't forget to tighten them again!