file Question A few questions from a non stepcraft owner

• cncwood
  • cncwood's Avatar Topic Author
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
More
12 May 2015 19:30 #20526 by cncwood
Hi all!

My name is Nick and this is my very first topic on that forum. I have never used a cnc machine before but is something im gona try with a stepcraft2/840 maschine. Im total new to the field, although i have read and watch a lot videos about cncs. Despite that i have some questions and maybe already users could help me.

So the maschine comes in two versions one with usb module and another with parallel module. I want to use softwares like mach3 so i read i need the parallel version. But my pc have not a port. I search and find that its an adaptor called UC100 i have to use. I search also for pci parallel cards that cost around 20 euros. Friends what you think its better to go? If i go with a card is possible to control the maschine apropriate? What i have to be aware of those pci-lpt cards? Will be easy to setup with card/adaptor?

I know stepcraft is for hobby but im going to use it in my small workshop for woodcrafts. I will use a kress spindle, what you think is the basic router bits i have to order along the maschine to start work? I am also interested in 2.5D (or 3D?, i am confused about the right terminology) mashining on woods.

Thank you!

Nick

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 May 2015 19:57 #20528 by drilldevil
Replied by drilldevil on topic A few questions from a non stepcraft owner
as you already wrote: that machine is for hobby purpose. i guess you wont have a lot of fun with it in a professional way.

for excample you have to make maintanance works after every 10 hours using it. this is about every 1,5 days in continuous use. do like that ?

Andreas

• cncwood
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
More
12 May 2015 20:45 #20530 by cncwood
Replied by cncwood on topic A few questions from a non stepcraft owner